Optus Mobile Review ALDI Mobile Review Amaysim Mobile Review Belong Mobile Review Circles.Life Review Vodafone Mobile Review Woolworths Mobile Review Felix Mobile Review Best iPhone Plans Best Family Mobile Plans Best Budget Smartphones Best Prepaid Plans Best SIM-Only Plans Best Plans For Kids And Teens Best Cheap Mobile Plans Telstra vs Optus Mobile Optus NBN Review Belong NBN Review Vodafone NBN Review Superloop NBN Review Aussie BB NBN Review iiNet NBN Review MyRepublic NBN Review TPG NBN Review Best NBN Satellite Plans Best NBN Alternatives Best NBN Providers Best Home Wireless Plans What is a Good NBN Speed? Test NBN Speed How to speed up your internet Optus vs Telstra Broadband ExpressVPN Review CyberGhost VPN Review NordVPN Review PureVPN Review Norton Secure VPN Review IPVanish VPN Review Windscribe VPN Review Hotspot Shield VPN Review Best cheap VPN services Best VPN for streaming Best VPNs for gaming What is a VPN? VPNs for ad-blocking A few years ago, I invested in a Dyson V6 Absolute expecting it would fulfil my wildest vacuum fantasies. Dyson has done an excellent job of positioning its brand as the Mercedes of all things that suck and blow, so I imagined a vacuum powerful enough to extract the nails from my hardwood floor, or pull a Volkswagen Passat through a garden hose. But expectation never met reality with my Dyson, and I began to make excuses for it as it ineffectually pushed dirt around and left debris deeply embedded in my rug. Perhaps, I thought, all stick vacuums are ineffective. Or, perhaps I’m just using it wrong. I imagined urbane silver fox James Dyson tinkering away in his laboratory, feverishly churning out the Platonic Ideal of vacuums. Certainly, he wouldn’t lead me astray? The Samsung Jet 90 has put to rest my reservations about stick vacuums, and made the claims put forth by my Dyson seem like marketing puffery. The Jet 90 also offers add-ons that can inflate the price a bit. A self-cleaning station, for example, adds another $299 to the price , and an extra battery is yet another $249. If the extra battery life and self-cleaning functionality are non-negotiables for you, you’d be better off springing for the Bespoke Jet. This is Pancakes: In contrast, the Jet 90 easily removes pet fur, even fur deeply embedded in the rug. If it weren’t for his incessant meowing, I’d forget Pancakes even existed. It also performs well handling larger debris. Our 5-year-old daughter, for example, has yet to internalise our pleas for her not to play with Play-Doh on the carpet. The Jet 90 managed to get all but the most deeply embedded bits of Play-Doh, as well as errant chips dropped in the course of her daily snacking. While the Jet 90 has separate brush heads for carpet and hard surfaces, I found that its carpet attachment is quite effective on hardwood and tile as well, while my Dyson’s carpet attachment would just fling debris across the room when used on hard surfaces. It’s tough to jam the Jet 90, but when you do, a warning light immediately tells you whether the clog is in the brush head or one of the suction mechanisms such as the dustbin or pipe. My one annoyance was with the spinning mechanism of the brush head. It’s finicky, and a bit too much pressure can cause the brush to stop rotating, even when there’s no jam. After a few runs, though, I managed to find the Goldilocks Zone between rigorous elbow grease and featherlight touch, and my brush rotation problems mostly disappeared. If you don’t fancy getting your hands dirty at all, Samsung also offers the aforementioned self-cleaning station. Or, you can spring for the pricier Bespoke Jet with its integrated self-cleaning. Both offer the benefit of dust filtration so you don’t have to worry about emptying out your vacuum cleaner and generating a dust cloud. It also includes four tools. It has a mini motorised brush tool that’s great for cleaning in the car or vacuuming furniture, a combination brush that works great on baseboards and a crevice tool for narrow spaces. There’s also a bendable tool for hard to reach spots. I haven’t run into a use case for it yet, but I suppose it’d be handy for cleaning picture rails, the tops of cupboards or for stealth missions where you have to surreptitiously vacuum around a corner without being detected. The crevice tool is the one that really proves its worth. Crevice tools are a pretty stock-standard inclusion for most vacuums, but the Jet 90’s telescopes, allowing you to reach some very difficult-to-access spots. You could even vacuum under your refrigerator, which — let’s face it — you’ve never done. Most of my vacuuming was done on medium power, and I found that more than sufficient for everyday vacuuming chores. With a motorised attachment, I got 24 minutes, which was usually ample for vacuuming my 2-bedroom house. On the highest setting, the Samsung really burns through battery. I was lucky to get around 8 minutes running the Jet 90 on high with a motorised attachment, but I also found it generally unnecessary to kick the power up that high. It also houses all its buttons on the top of the unit, unlike the Dyson which uses a trigger set into the grip. This feels a bit unintuitive at first. My wife actually prefers the Samsung’s setup, but when I vacuum I like to pretend I’m in WWII sweeping a minefield or using a flamethrower to clear out a machine gun nest, so I think I still prefer the trigger. One feature I do like is the telescoping pipe. This makes it easy for people of different heights to use the Jet 90 comfortably. I’m 6’2” and can use the vacuum as easily as my wife at 5’4”. Be warned, though: you need to retract the pipe before putting the vacuum back on its base station or it will teeter precariously and a light knock with your foot will send it careening to the floor. The Jet 90 also corners well, and has no trouble making tight turns around chair legs and other obstructions. If, however, you’re looking for a bit of extra battery life and self-cleaning functionality, you’d be better off springing for Samsung’s top-tier Bespoke Jet. Either way, Samsung seems to be carving out a niche for itself in the stick vac market, and sucking up Dyson’s dominance.

Samsung Jet 90 Complete Review - 86Samsung Jet 90 Complete Review - 82Samsung Jet 90 Complete Review - 54Samsung Jet 90 Complete Review - 74Samsung Jet 90 Complete Review - 20